i think bc it specifically says "treat any 1... as a 2," that it'd treat the roll as having rolled a 2 instead. it could've specifically referred to only increasing the dmg, but it says to treat the 1 as a 2
1 week ago
| 126
On the fence. Though if a character invests a feat just to slightly increase the chance of bouncing the orb, I'd allow it.
1 week ago
| 117
I think it does work, but it definitely feels like one of those areas where tables are going to play differently. Also from my perspective of someone invests in a feat that is otherwise a little lackluster I would give them the benefit of the doubt. Elemental Adept usually falls into the category of okay but not great feats.
5 days ago
| 1
Yes it does, and to answer the next poll yes Twinned Spell works on Chromatic Orb :) didn't even realise it was controversial, Chromatic Orb very explicitly "can be cast with a higher-level spell slot to target an additional creature", which is the only requirement for Twinned Spell to work.
5 days ago | 1
Just repeating the common comment here with some added context: ‘Dice replacement’ rules don’t always use the same verbiage but they’re quite consistent. Portent says to ‘replace’ a roll with the Portent number, and a Rogue’s Reliable Talent ‘treats’ a 9 or less as a 10. Rogue rolls a 20, enemy Wizard Portent makes it a 2, Reliable Talent kicks it up to a 10. We would expect that Rogue’s 10+bonuses to work as we functionally expect for all of their capabilities. Same thing with ElAd and Chromatic Orb, that 1 functionally becomes a 2 for all purposes, both damage and otherwise.
1 week ago
| 37
It says to treat a roll of 1 as a 2, so the result of that roll is 2, 2, 5 and should be treated as such. It's a nice bit of interaction, but hardly anything gamebreaking or worth homebrewing away.
6 days ago (edited) | 1
Question about Chromatic Orb (2024): Does the caster require line of sight to each target for the bounces? Do they need to actually know a creature is there, or can the orb “choose” on its own? The wording says “target you choose”—is that me as the player choosing, or the character? Does the orb need line of sight and line of effect to bounce, or does only the caster need that? Or both?
5 days ago | 2
Treating ones as 2s is so niche and useless that I'm like "just let them have this."
1 week ago | 6
Not sure if yes or no but I'm allowing it. If you care so much about chromatic orb that you take a feat to slightly increase it's power, just take your bonus.
1 week ago
| 20
Looks like it's chromatic orb week. Treantmonk's video goes over the same kind of interaction but with Empowered Spell metamagic. Like he said, it works by all mechanical rulings. Plus it just makes sense.
6 days ago | 16
You can think it as filling the orb with a certain ratio of energy. Usually the energies are chaotic but when you ratio them perfectly, the orb reacts and splits off. Being the Elemental Adept that you are, you can match ratio the weaker of these energies even more perfectly.
5 days ago | 2
I was about to say specific beats general - so the rare (feat) beats the spell (easier to get). So if the featsays treat it as 2- I would treat it as two 2s, and bounce the damage.
1 week ago
| 1
I imagine it’s similar in wording to Rogue’s Reliable Talent in that if you roll less than a 10 for a skill you are proficient in, you replace the roll with a 10. Elemental Adept works the same way in that you are replacing the 1 for a 2, overriding the roll itself.
1 week ago (edited)
| 12
Now you make me wonder how it would work if you changed damage type to lightning and used tempest domain channel divinity to maximize the damage... Do you just roll normally but then treat the damage like it's all 8s?
1 week ago (edited) | 2
The important bit is "on a damage die", that implies the roll is changed and that is all you need to make it work.
1 week ago
| 6
Yes. The spell states a bounce happens “if you roll the same number on two or more of the d8s.” Elemental Adept states “when you roll damage […], you can treat any 1 on a damage die as a 2.” If we rolled a 1, we actually rolled a 2 because of the feat. It’s like you have a set of custom d8s with 2 on 2 faces.
6 days ago | 4
I would say yes, because I kinda see it in the same way I see portent rolls, which, regardless of what you roll can be turned into another number and still gain the specific benefits of having rolled that number
6 days ago | 2
Id say chromatic orb is a particular elementalist spell. And elemental adept is a particular elementalist feat. This sounds like a cool combination that wouldn't break the game.
6 days ago | 1
There are several rules in the game that say, you treat X as Y “for the purposes of” such-and-such. This doesn’t say that, it just says you treat 1s on the die as 2s, which means it’s for all purposes.
6 days ago | 1
d4: D&D Deep Dive
Ok it's poll time! Today we have a question about how the Elemental Adept feat may or may not interact with the 2024 version of the Chromatic Orb spell. Chromatic Orb says that "If you roll the same number on two or more of the d8s, the orb leaps to a different target." Let's assume we make that damage fire, and then take the Elemental Adept feat for fire. We roll 3d8 for damage and get a 1, a 2, and a... 5. Since the feat says "when you roll damage for a spell you cast that deals damage of that type, you can treat any 1 on a damage die as a 2," does Chromatic Orb bounce to another target?
1 week ago | [YT] | 205